Skip to content

Is it personal or professional?

January 30, 2012

I remember a few months ago attending a session where the talk was centred on encouraging people to use Web 2.0 tools. I always like to try new things so I was more than happy to jump in. Indeed I thought this may be answer to many of my problems. I am a busy person in both my professional and personal life. Like many other people I work all day and then go home to volunteer for a couple more things just to round out the day. I don’t mind doing this. I would even go so far as to say it is these volunteer organizations that help me fill in some of the gaps in my person and professional life.

The real trick in maintaining balance is … communication. I need to know what is happening and get the word out to the people in my various circles. Sure social media, email and texting make it easier but it can result in information overload and an identity crisis. How do we separate … personal and professional in a web 2.0, web 3.0 or web 4.0 world? Is there a worry that what we think is “right” today is wrong tomorrow? What impact does this have on our personal life? What about our professional life?

I have chosen to error on the side of caution. I have seen friends delete Facebook accounts after taking a personal path that has changed or impacted their professional lives. How do you separate personal and professional in a world where information is readily available and we all still want our privacy?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

