Skip to content

What are you paying for?

June 10, 2011

The last few weeks I have been having some problems with advertising. Don’t get me wrong I think all companies have a right to promote their products and this act unto itself is not an issue. My issue started when I visited a McDonald’s in Vernon, BC. While there I did a double take when I saw this ad:

I was forced to do a double take on the ad. I must admit when I first read it I was thinking that buying two of these was the best way to go. As I checked further, as I always do, I was quick to note that there was some level of psychology at play here that I did not really understand. However, the mathematics is easy to interpret. The unit price is not impacted by the number I purchase but the bottom line of the company certainly is.

It seems to me that this is numeracy in action. It is not that people should not purchase the McMini, ignoring any health concerns, but people should make informed decisions about their purpose. As I left the establishment I was left wondering how many people did a double take and how many did not notice.

As a result of this experience I am trying to gather other ads like this one. If you have one I would love to know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 2:20 am

    I’m going to start taking photos of these. I’ve seen a few and they hurt – on so many levels.

    Thanks for the post, Richard!

Leave a Reply

