Skip to content

Passion

May 20, 2011

Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion.

Christian Friedrich Hebbel

So do you have passion about your work? What are you passionate about? Do you have aspects of your professional life which you are excited about? Ideas that you could talk about for hours. Thoughts that recharge you. An aspect if your work where every new ideas and path you can’t wait to pursue further. Education needs this passion.

It is this passion which drives us and makes us excited to get up in the morning. I know some people can say that it’s just work but for me that would be like saying there is 7 hours out of every day that are not important. Indeed for most educators I think 7 hours a day would be a gross under-estimate.

Don’t get me wrong we all have highs and lows. This is normal. We are all human and some days are not so great. We can feel beat and think the passion is gone but I like to think it is smouldering and waiting for the smallest amount of fuel to reignite it.

Now to come clean. What is my passion you may ask? Simply put I am passionate about numeracy and changing attitudes toward mathematics. I find it hard to sit still and do nothing when people say they “can not do mathematics.” I always feel that I need to do something about these attitudes. I feel there is a need for people to be numerate. It is my raison d’être when I go to work in the morning. Does this mean I can do something everyday. I wish. It does mean that I need to look for path which will allow me to pursue my passions. I realize I can not wait for others to tell me how to do this.

This is where my Personal Learning Network (PLN) comes in. Over the past couple of months this has been the fuel to reignite my passion. Finding people all around with world with the same passion toward mathematics and numeracy has reinvigorated me. It has helped me extend my reach, hopefully not beyond my grasp, to new heights. As a result I feel I can do even more about my professional passion toward mathematics and numeracy than I have ever been able to accomplish. It is an exciting time.

I hope that everyone reading this has been able to find the fuel to ignite their passion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

