Skip to content

Welcome to my blog!

April 8, 2011

I have had an incredible journey through my professional career. Perhaps the most exciting part is yet to come. Who knows. I do know that I am a long way from the finish and I look forward to seeing the rest of the pieces snap into place.

I started my career as a teacher in Coppermine, NT prior to the formation of Canada’s newest territory. In 1999, Coppermine changed its name to Kuglukuk as it became part of Nunavut. At the same time as the political boundaries were shifting  I decided to take on the role of Nunavut’s first Mathematics, Science and ICT Coordinator. It was a challenge and set me off on 12 years of the best professional development anyone can hope to have.

One territory and 2 provinces later it is time to take enter the next phase of my educational journey. Starting in September 2011 I will move from my position as an Education Officer with the British Columbia Ministry of Education to teaching grade 7 and 8 mathematics.

I hope that you will join me in “connecting the dots.”  This blog is will follow my attempts to string together thoughts and ideas that are helping shape my thinking. While some of these may not be totally formed it is the journey and the contributions of people on your travels that make it worth while. Who knows where it will all end up.

In the words of Don Williams Jr., “The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

